Permanent Waves (1980)

Permanent Waves
by Hugh Syme

Released in January 1980, Permanent Waves six-song album made a big push with the use of synths, but not so much compared to their mid-eighties albums. With only six on this album, three became hits. 50% isn’t bad.

Note: Clicking on above links will open a new page/tab

Hits & classic rock station staples include “Spirit of the Radio” and “Freewill.” “Entre Nous” (French for “Between Us”) was a minor hit. Album cover artist Hugh Syme plays piano on Different Strings. All lyrics on this album (and 95% of Rush’s songs) were by Neil Peart, minus “Different Strings” which was penned by Geddy Lee.