The super group with John Wetton (King Crimson), Steve Howe (Yes), Geoff Downes (Yes, Buggles), and Carl Palmer (ELP) got together and formed Asia in 1981. Recording went on at a furious pace to have the band’s self-titled album released on March 15, 1982. A month later, “Heat of the Moment” was being played profusely on radio and MTV. Other hits of that album include, “Only Time Will Tell” and “Sole Survivor.”

In 1983, Asia would be the first band to have a concert special for MTV called Asia in Asia, however, with temporary lead singer Greg Lake on vocals. Singer John Wetton had passed away on January 31, 2017 after a battle with cancer.

(Note: Clicking on above links will open a new page/tab)

Asia’s self-titled album would be the Billboard’s “Record of the Year” for 1982. Sadly, Asia’s self-titled album would be their best. They would release Alpha in 1983 which did not match the numbers of their first. Then in 1985 going to heavy rock with Astra, Steve Howe being replaced by Mandy Meyer (Krokus).

John Wetton and Carl Palmer would leave the band in 1991, Geoff Downes the only consistent member decided to press on. Asia would be fronted by John Payne in 1991-2006 and made many albums. They would release Alpha in 1992 which had Steve Howe special guest on the album’s tour. Alpha did not chart in the U.S. but found some attention in Europe and Japan. The original band reunited in 2006.